HomeSecondaryCurriculum StructureStage 5

Stage 5

Stage 5 (Years 9 and 10)

In addition to core subjects, students in Stage 5 (Years 9 and 10) choose elective subjects, as their interests and abilities begin to lead them in different directions. Electives are drawn from Creative Arts, Sports Science and Technology and Applied Studies. Which subjects are offered each year depends on the strengths and interests of each particular cohort. Subjects that are offered to Year 9 and 10 typically include:

  • Commerce
  • Child Studies
  • Design and Technology
  • Drama
  • Elective History
  • Food Technology
  • Music
  • Physical Activities and Sports Studies (PASS)
  • Technology Timber
  • Visual Arts

Students must choose at least one elective subject that they will study over two years, in both Year 9 and 10. They may then choose either one other subject to study over the two year period or two one year subjects, one of which is studied in Year 9 and the other in Year 10.